The Lemon That Aspired to Be a Pear

By Shlomo   Maital

Lemon as Pear 

 

  Remember the Peter Paul & Mary song, Lemon Tree:

 When I was just a lad of ten, my father said to me,

“Come here and take a lesson from the lovely lemon tree.”

“Don’t put your faith in love, my boy”, my father said to me,

“I fear you’ll find that love is like the lovely lemon tree.”

Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet

But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.

 

 

We have an amazing little lemon tree in our front yard. It yields unbelievable crops of lemons yearly, and asks for nothing in return, just a bit of water.  And from its lemons, we make lemon chicken, lemon meringue pie, lemon squares, and a blizzard of stuff all of which is great to eat!  

  But our little lemon tree aspires to more.  It wants to be a pear tree.

   So it produced a lemon that looks like a pear.  (See photo).

   You’re an inspiration, lemon tree.  And we apologize for the lyrics of that dumb song.  If love truly were like the lemon tree, it would have high aspirations, be highly productive, and go sour only if you let it. 

